The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the advantages?

It is true that social media sites are popularly used for communicating purpose and they are expected to substitute the direct communication. From my perspectives, despite the existence of drawbacks, I would argue that advantages are way more significant.

On the one hand, it can not be denied that social networks is gradually dominating other forms of communication including face-to-face communication. First of all, people in all over the world are getting closer and stay updated with each other thank to social media, regardless of geographical distance. In the past, it would be time-consuming and annoying as well if a person needed to send a letter or announce news to someone in the faraway place owing to the fact that he had to trade for a long way in long hours. Nevertheless, now, it is relatively comfortable and convenient for individuals to send letters through email and exchange information via texting. Furthermore, in specific cases, social media can be considered as a situational solution instead of direct communication. For example, during the COVID-19 pandemic, while going out and having face-to-face interaction at the classroom, which is extremely hazardous due to the exposure to the virus, various schools resort to different communicating apps such as Zoom or Microsoft teams to organize online classes for students so that they can maintain their study even if they are in quarantine.

On the other hand, the drawbacks of the usage of social media can not be ignored. First, the overuse of social networks might weaken the users’s interaction with real people in real life. This is mainly because if they spend most of their time making online friends, it will be hard for them to find someone trustworthy in their actual life and they might let themselves be isolated from participating in any social relationships, leading to a variety of negative behaviours such as frustrated or monotonous. In addition, the virtual environment potentially maintains the great number of dangers which is difficult to tackle if unexpected things happen in real life. For example, during the social distancing time, the online bullying and harrassment are getting much more serious, also, more individuals use unclear account on the Internet to criticize or make fun of someone they detest, that results in the imbalance between their virtual activities and the moral behaviour in the society and triggers different mental disorder such as depression.

In conclusion, it would be remiss if 2 disadvantages of social networks were not mentioned . However, with the improvement of the awareness of those negative sides, I am sure that social media can help users gain more benefits of communication and disadvantages.