In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places. Many people believe that such a ban is justified. Do you agree or disagree?

Smoking has been banned in public places like parks, restaurants, colleges, hospitals and public transports in many nations. This essay agrees with the statement because this will prevent people from the harmful effects of passive smoking and also encourages smokers to quit.

The primary reason for making smoking illegal in public makes sense is preventing people from having to breathe from second hand smoking. Passive smoking will develop many smoking- related diseases such as lung cancer, heart diseases and stroke. British Medical Association recently conducted a survey and found that people who often exposed to tobacco smoke are 4 times more likely to develop heart –related diseases, than those who do not having to breathe from second hand smoking.

The second main reason for the ban is to help people who are regular smokers of cigarettes to quit their habit. When smokers and non-smokers socialize together, smokers often ostracized from the group because always they have to leave everyone else from the group to light up and this should encourage smokers to avoid smoking. Those who quit the habit of smoking would feel more a part of the social gathering and this will encourage them to quit the habit. This has been proven in Ireland, the first country in the world to have nationwide ban, where people have to leave the bar and restaurant to smoke out.

In conclusion, making smoking against the law will prevent innocent people from dying because of passive smoking and reduce the number of smokers.