In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is said that in modern life, living in extended families has become less popular among people, and they prefer to live alone or have a small family. I believe that this situation has both advantages and disadvantages.

The rise in one-person households and nuclear families can be seen as a positive trend for several reasons. Living independently lets people have more privacy and become a rounded person who can lonely cope with all changes that life throws at them. People who choose to live alone need to learn some life skills, such as cooking, cleaning and paying bills. All these activities make people more independent and self-reliant. In the nuclear families, parents can have more opportunities to pay attention to their children. In this situation parents can better support their children either emotionally or financially. Also, with having a small family, the increasing living costs do not put parents under pressure, as they can better manage their budget.

Despite the benefits mentioned above, the new living pattern can have some negative points. Living separately usually results in the reduction of communication between family members, which can cause people to feel lonely and become depressed after a while. This condition become worse when they need to straggle with different problems in their lives alone without any help. In the nuclear families, children miss out on the emotional support and daily conversation that extended family can provide. This is because both parents need to work during the day. So, they can only spend time with their children at night, and most of the time, fatigue gets this chance from them, while in big families, grandparents usually can compensate for the affection that children need.

In conclusion, in my view, the trend towards living alone or having a small family can be both positive and negative.