In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment.

What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

As the quality of education develops, there is a significant increase in highly qualified graduates with exceptional degrees and grades. Unfortunately, a large proportion of those graduates are still suffering from being unemployed. While there are many causes relating to this issues, several solutions can be brought up to tackle the situation.

First of all, being unemployed despite having high qualifications might be the result of lacking practical skills. In schools, students are not taught to develop soft skills such as critical thinking, time management, presentation skill and so on. Lectures that are filled with theoretical knowledge and contain little relevance to working environment may cause more harms than good. As a consequence, graduates become unequipped with knowledge and skills that can be useful for their jobs. Instead, most companies nowadays have to retrain almost all newly graduates coming to work in order to enhance their skills and experience.

Second, although this situation has happened frequently recently, several solutions can be made to solve this problem. One of the most highly recommended solutions is to combine schoolwork with practicing sessions, reducing less need for theoretical lectures and more for skill applications sessions. A good example would be to organise field trips for students to experience the real working life in the firms. In addition, many companies can offer to coordinate with universities to open training courses as well as internship opportunities for young generations to have more chance of gaining real life working experience.

All in all, even though unemployment among highly qualified students is a critical issue, there are many ways to deal with this problem and improve the situation.