It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

It is true that children should be educated to distinguish between right and wrong from the early age. Some people might even suggest punishment as a way to help them learn the differences. However, I completely disagree with this opinion due to a range of factors, particularly the emotional impact it may have on children.

To begin with, not only does punishment leave bad impressions about their parents, it also make children become fear of making mistakes again. In some cases, children may isolate themselves and create huge distance between them and their family. Asian families would be a good example for this situation. Unlike Western parents who tend to spend majority of their time explaining to their children about the distinction between good and bad behaviors, Asian parents would more likely to scold and may use physical punishment when their children did something wrong. This method of parenting might remind them not to make mistakes again but it would leave a permanent scar mentally and emotionally.

Furthermore, punishing too much may even have a backfired effect, in other words, some children would want to make the same mistakes again. Because they are still in the developing stage, they might still be impulsive and have unstable emotions at times. Therefore, this might cause them to disobey their parents when being punished too harsh. Personally, I would suggest implementing punishment only in the necessary circumstances, with an appropriate method that would not hurt the child. A slight reminder or criticism may be a good way to approach, bringing a better impact on children than the physical punishment.

In conclusion, punishment would be needed in some cases when teaching good behavior to children, as long as it is used with careful consideration and in suitable situations.