In many countries woman no longer feel the need to get married some people believe that this is because women are able to earn their own income and therefore do not require financial security that marriage can bring to what extent do you agree

Women in many countries do not think they require to be in wedlock. Few individuals think this is because they are able to provide for them and are financially secured so, the need for marriage to fulfil these needs becomes irrelevant. I do not agree with the statement and this essay will discuss two main reasons for women to reject being in a marriage.

To begin with, marriages are not that simple anymore like the past. Nowadays, there are many legalities and agreements before marriage can take place. The prenuptial agreement states the terms and conditions and if either party in the future tries to dissolve the marriage there are consequences which both agree to in the beginning. Such consequences can cause a huge impact on the finances of both parties at times. For instance, Jeff Bezos lost half of his net worth to his wife for getting a divorce. So, people prefer to stay in a live-in relationship rather than getting married.

Furthermore, many couples do not last long these days and often divorces take place within 5 years of being married. As there is often a lack of understanding between partners which leads to being separated. For example, A study conducted by the Harvard Institute of Social Science reports that in the USA, only 50% of the marriages last for more than five years. As a result, most females prefer to stay unmarried and independent.

In conclusion, women are preferring to stay single in most of the countries, and many feel that is because of the financial independence she has got for herself in modern society. However, it is not true and in fact, women prefer to stay out of marriage due to heavy losses in case of filing for separation in court, and due to the short-lived duration of the wedding, makes it unattractive and irrelevant to them.