Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is noticeable that the crime rate is increasing dramatically in all over the world. Although, prisoners are being experienced with difficulties in regular life in prison, but still they commit crimes year after year after releasing from prison. A range of measures could be taken to solve this problem.

There are several reasons of crime and re-offending. The major causes of crime are poverty, unemployment and lack of education. People who commit crimes often have no other way of making a living. Another reason is that the prison system, which makes the situation worse. Because the offenders mix with other criminals can be a negative influence and the lack of rehabilitation programs lead to discourage offenders from any kind of social activities. Also, a criminal record makes finding a job more difficult.

There are various actions could be taken to solve the problems described above. Firstly, the rehabilitation programs could be designed in a way that it develops the personal skills, analytical abilities, logical thinking and specific job as well. In addition, prisons should provide education or vocational training. Another way to reform the offenders is community service, which makes offenders useful in their local communities. Finally, governments and individual should help offenders in order to find the accomodation and work. The state authorities could launch a job fair for the criminals, so that they could earn money to fill their basic needs.

In conclusion, while the number of re-offenders are growing, I believe that various measures could be taken to mitigate the problems.