Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourist industries. Why is it the case? Is it a positive development?

In recent years, there has been a phenomenon wherein several developing countries' increasing reliance on and being encouraged to tourism to boost their local economies. From my point of view, I argue that such a trend has succeeded and has brought significant benefits to the natives and the community. However, I consider that some potential adverse impacts should not be overlooked at the same time.

There are a plethora of reasons for governments to develop the tourism sector. To begin with, the travel industry has been a huge source of income for nations that are copiously rich in unique natural scenery. Hence, proliferate these developing countries' gross domestic product. To illustrate, according to the Ministry of Culture, Sports, and Tourism, Vietnam, which has numerous original landscapes, genuine historical heritage, and an abundance of wildlife in natural areas such as Ha Long Bay, Phong Nha-Ke Bang national park, and so on, earns approximately $125 million each year in tourism, attracting millions of both overseas and local tourists. This caused a significant change in Vietnam's economy, and this country has become one of the 20 nations in the world that obtains the most money from the tourism industry. Furthermore, the tourism sector may create job opportunities for local people. Instead of being at home or having a limited choice in a number of occupations, locals can find a job as a tour guide, driver, hotel, or salesperson. These can ameliorate natives' income and improve their quality of life. Moving further, the public's general living standards are also improved due to investment in the construction of tourism facilities. Transport systems, including major transit terminals, and road conditions are a typical example to demonstrate how natives' daily traveling can be facilitated.

Despite certain advantages mentioned above, I believe that this trend could damage both nature and societies. On an environmental level, the construction of modern facilities like hotels and highways may destroy natural habitats or indigenous flora and fauna. As a result, this leads to global warming and causes many tragedies like climate change and hurricanes. On a social level, although tourism is generating enormous financial wealth and has become the primary source of income for different nations, this phenomenon may make conflicts among natives and tourists, especially with international visitors. This might be explained by the fact that they bring their patterns of behavior associated with insufficient knowledge of the host country. For instance, the inappropriate and selfish attitude of a group of Chinese tourists during a dinner in Da Nang City a few years ago, coupled with the loud noise they make, which is, in fact, a real nuisance to people around. Even though this example does not represent the actions of the rest of the Chinese people, a minority of visitors did increase tension between the two countries more involved. Additionally, in the intricate context of the COVID-19 pandemic, all tourism activities, notably in the global category, are closed by the government to prevent citizens from getting infected by the Corona viruses, which have killed millions of inhabitants. Consequently, many countries have lost huge amounts of revenue from the tourism industry. People may lose their jobs and massive income, which were coming out ahead previously. Numerous territories that, before the pandemic, were popular with visitors, like Phuket or the Maldives, now look like abandoned islands with no citizens.

In summary, the phenomenon of developing countries expanding their tourist industries is beneficial for local as well as the growth in total national income. Nevertheless, several drawbacks to extending tourism cannot be denied. The government should not focus excessive resources only on the tourism sector; they should invest in a balanced method in all industries, avoid the worst-case scenarios that could ruin a prosperous economy in the near future