Many government think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Economic progress has been the major concern of governments among most of the nations while other others debate that balanced development is a must for a country. This essay delves both the aspects and will forward the concrete opinion.

Firstly, overall development of a nation rests on the economic status of the country and vice versa. However, the development approach with balanced overall management of different sectors can be a sustainable way-out. The development of the fundamental sectors such as education, communication, transportation and ensuring food security can help improve the living standards of the citizens thereby addressing their felt needs and lead to develop the economy of a nation. We can take the example of developed nations, with leading global economy, are focusing continuously on improvement and safeguarding the rights of every individual. Needlessly to say, overall development is a key driver to the economic upliftment.

On the other hand, nations with the prior goal to boost up economy can be too analyzed in both aspects. It depends on the present economic status and the adopted approach to development. In case of developed nations with major developments has already reached a point assuring a quality life to its citizens can focus solely on improving the economy whereas the case is not same with developing and under-developed nations. In addition to that, economic development of a nation does not always assure a high satisfaction level and contributes less to the happiness index. A similar case of one of the global economic leader, North Korea, can we be sure about the quality of life of its citizen, who are devoid of the basic facilities like freedom and are inaccessible to the outer world.

To sum up, overall development is a key driver to the economic prosperity of any nation and the approach to prosperity should address the needs of the citizens.