Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today’s society, people hold various views as to whether or not economic development should be the primary target of a nation. Whereas there are compelling arguments to the contrary, it is my personal belief that other measures of progress are just as essential.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why national prosperity is considered as a fundamental goal in many countries. Firstly, a healthy economy results in better job prospects for everyone, meaning that employees could secure a job with a good salary. Secondly, economic growth ensures that more money will be allocated in other fields. For instance, the government can use taxes to invest in environmental preservation and medical treatment, which leads to improved quality of life and sustainable development in society. Finally, a strong economy allows that nation to assert its position on the global stage. A salient example is the competition between the USA and China in terms of GDP to be the world's most powerful economy.

On the other hand, I agree with those who believe that various other forms of progress are just as significant as economic factors. To embark on, educational advancement has a crucial role to play in training cultured citizens who will considerably contribute to a country’s well-being. Furthermore, if social unrests are yet to be mitigated, the entire country will not be able to fully focus on boosting the whole economic system. For example, Israel and Palestine are having wars against each other, which prevents these nations from functioning properly.

By way of conclusion, although there are sensible reasons to claim that economic growth is a principal goal, I reaffirm my state that educational and social factors are not to be overlooked.