Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Progress of a nation has become a hot topic for debate in today’s society. Government believe that economic progress is the most important progress. Whereas people believe that there are other types of progress which are equally momentous for a country. This essay will cast light on both sides and will provide reasons for the same.

Governments are responsible for the welfare of the people. In their opinion, economic progress is of vital importance and they strive for the same. By uplifting the economic status, government try to improve the living standards and financial status of the people. As money is important for one’s survival, government are determined to work on economic progress. By doing so, they aim to eradicate poverty and provide basic amenities like food, shelter, potable water, etc. to each and every individual of the society. This explains the reason why government prioritize economic progress above any other type of progress.

On the other hand, some people believe that government should focus on other domains and not only on economy progress. Other progresses involve education, children welfare, health, etc. In most of the cases, government officials are corrupt and their goal for economic progress is for own interest. Also, other progresses are equally imperative for overall development of society. For instance, if a country is economically sound but the children of this country are malnourished due to corrupt officials, this country cannot be considered developed as it is lacking in health department. So, people believe that for overall development of a country all types of progress should be considered.

To sum it up, every domain is equally important for development of country. I am in complete agreement with the latter point of view. This essay argued that all types of progress are equally important and prioritizing single domain can have detrimental effects on the development of the country.