Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal.

Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or

experience.

Although economic development is considered as the most valued progress by a lot of countries, many believe that progress in other areas must be looked at just as important. We will discuss both of these views in this essay before reaching to a reasonable conclusion.

On the one hand, even with a great economy, countries cannot reach to the top without a significant improvement to other sectors in the government. In other words, education, healthcare and defense are the cornerstones for the country, and without good growth, no real progress will happen. For example, without a good advancement in defense, the country will be an easy target for attacks from extremists and terrorists.

However, on the other hand, none of the progress and the growth mentioned above can be possible without having a good economy. The economy is the backbone to other advancements and without sufficient gain in the economy other areas will fail to develop properly. Moreover, the economy is the direct indicator and the easiest way to compare between nations. For example, the US is considered the strongest country in the world, although it’s not the best in all of the other areas, only because it has the strongest economy.

In conclusion, both sides of the view had strong opinions and gave a good argument, but I can easily agree that countries economy is the most important indicator for the development and should be considered the most important goal as it controls other areas of progression in the nations.