Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, people have to deal with a host of issues, including health. There is a widely held belief that the price of sugary food and drink should be increased so that the level of sugar consumption decreases, protecting people's health. I am partly in favor of this idea owing to the following grounds.

On the one hand, the compelling justification for defending the above position is related to customers' income. In other words, if sugary products are made more expensive, some people who want to save money will limit to choose these products for their meals. For example, some Africans do not use sugar because they cannot afford to buy it. Therefore, it is fairly logical to make sugary products more expensive.

On the other hand, the reason why the standpoint should be refuted is that making the cost of sugary food and drink higher cannot exert an impact on the wealthy. This is because the rich usually show their attention to quality rather than the price of goods. To illustrate, high-income workers in Vietnam often spend a large sum of their salary on meals, so they can continue to buy what they want even if there is an increase in the price of products. As a result, this trend does not affect and creates inequality between the rich and the poor.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that although expensive sugary food and drink can reduce the rate of sugar eating, this usually fails to prevent the wealthy from buying them. In the future, people should find more other solutions to ameliorate the health problems caused by sugar.