Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Do you agree or disagree?

Most processed foodstuffs and liquors are responsible for health hazards as they are rich in sugar. The price of those products should be more to make people consume healthier foods. I strongly disagree with this notion since the cost only does not change people's perception and also declines the profit of industries producing packaged foods.

Most people consume manufactured foods and drinks for their satisfaction and relaxation. An increase in price may keep the individual's choice to consume those products the same. They might allocate more budget to get the same level of satisfaction rather than replace it with healthier options, which is directly correlated with the person's behaviour. Moreover, most people put much more emphasis on junk foods irrespective of price change. For example, recent studies suggest that people prefer to consume noodles as snacks regardless of the price change.

An increase in the price of products declines the sales of manufactured food items. As the price increase, the overall demand for commodities decreases resulting in less overall profit. Moreover, a decline in overall profits leads to the shutting down of industries based on manufacturing items. For instance, many enterprises in Nepal are on the verge of closing due to an increase in the price of products and a decline in overall sales and profits.

In conclusion, processed food items should be made costly to motivate people to eat healthier foods. Meanwhile, I disagree as people's behaviour does not change only due to the price increment; it also affects the overall profit of packaged food-based enterprises.