Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar which causes many health problems Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar Do you agree or disagree

The world is suffering from the issue of obesity. The advancements made in technology, medicine and other industry is quite commendable but we as humans have become lazy and more prone to healthy diseases. The prompt suggests, products that contain a lot of sugar should be made more expensive to discourage their consumption. I strongly agree with this and will be discussing my viewpoints in the coming sections.

First of all, if any recent surveys about physical activities and health concerns, from any region of the world is observed, the alarming state of people's physical health will be evident. For example: cities here in Bangladesh, India or any other South-East Asian countries, have very limited open fields for children to play in. This, issue is further compounded by the fact that, foods and drinks nowadays have become more sugar heavy and children are getting addicted to these unhealthy foods and drinks. Consequently, the state of the fitness in children has been degrading more and more with each passing day. Furthermore, the issue is not limited to children only, the number of adults suffering from health complications like: heart diseases, diabetes etc. is exponentially rising. Unhealthy eating habits, especially sugar intensive diets are the main culprits behind this dire situation. Curbing sugar consumption by increasing the price of sugary products will hopefully solve this issue to some extent.

Second of all, if the price of sugary products are increased by adding more VAT(Value added tax), the funds that the government will receive will also increase. As a result, this increased fund can help facilitate more services for the citizens of the country. For example: in several countries of South-East Asia, unbearable traffic jams is a pervasive problem, which can only be solved with more roads and highways. Thus, funds from the tax of sugary products can be used for this purpose. Also, tax from sugary products can also be invested behind raising public awareness for physical health.

On the contrary, some might argue that, such a stance from the government will put farmers cultivating sugar in the line of fire. This issue, can be easily solved if the government subsidize farmers in the sugar market to transition to, growing more healthy crops. The losses incurred by the government can be overshadowed from the increased tax revenue from sugary products. Thus, we can conclude by saying that the advantages discussed above far outweigh the disadvantages of such a stance.