Many men and women are making the decision to have children later in life.

Why is this trend occurring?

What are the impacts of this development on both family and society?

In recent years, delaying of childbirth has become a matter of concern as it pose threats to several countries, especially the developed. This essay will discuss driving forces behind this phenomenon and its possible effects on families and society.

To begin, the main reason for this newly-emerging trend is the changes in employment patterns. As more women have pursued tertiary education and entered the workforce, they tend to marry and have children later in life. This is unavoidable in many cases since women cannot combine family and work well due to costly childcare. Another factor leading to this decision is many people’s belief that there are always other opportunities available. Therefore, many couples choose to travel around the world or grasp the chance to work in another country, thus delaying their pregnancy.

As the result of this, several problems can be anticipated. Firstly, regarding to families, it can be more difficult for older women to get pregnant and they may experience health problems, such as a miscarriage, high blood pressure or diabetes during pregnancy. Parents may also find the whole experience of raising children more tiring when they get older. In the long-term, a decrease in fertility rates can be witnessed, which means that there will be an aging population with a lack of young people to work and take care of the elderly. However, looking at the positive side, since people decide to work longer before pregnancy, there will be stronger labourforce who could make significant contribution to the prosperity and stability of the society.

In conclusion, there are several reasons why people are having children later in life, and this can have a number of impacts, both positive and negative. Given the fact that society continues to change, this trend is likely to continue well into the future.