Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is it the case? What can be done to attract local people to visit those places?

It is true that the number of museums and historical related sites mostly welcome foreign visitor, while such places are visited less often by the local. From my perspective, the major reasons for this trend are the well-acquainted with these destinations and the unattractiveness of locations mentioned above which can be addressed by diversifying the collection of artifacts and converting these attractions into the multi-purposes building complex.

There are two key grounds why more tourists from other countries than indigenous people pay visits to museums and sites of historical importance. Firstly, humans by nature are more curious about new things. Therefore, overseas travelers visit more frequently museums and historical places that provide resourceful and informative about the culture and history of the country they are coming, whereas these attractions are too familiar with the local residents. Secondly, lack of integrated entertainment and facilities of these destinations together with the limitation of artifacts are chief contributing factors behind the less appealing of museums and historical related places. As a result, the local pass them over.

However, some effective and feasible measures can be taken to deal with this phenomenon. Initially, a simple action would be calling for the donation from the public in order to increase the number of artifacts, resulting in drawing the attention of local residents. This can be illustrated by the war remnants museum in Ho Chi Minh City, which has kept the display of some outdated planes, photos of war victims and weapons for years, having added more artifacts through the donation old pictures and videos to foreign reporters. This leads to the higher attendance of the local to this museum. In addition, the local governments should integrate more functional building such as cinemas, restaurants, commercial centers into existing places to appeal more local visitors, especially youngsters because renovated attractions not only helps local residents to gain insight their nation’s culture and history through artifacts, widening their horizon but also are one-stop destination where they can combine visiting with shopping and relaxation.

In conclusion, it seems to me that lower attendance of local citizens than overseas tourists to museums and historical places, stemming from some origins described above. Nevertheless, there are efficient solutions to cope with this situation.