Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It is undoubtedly true that museums and other areas that have historical values had been established as tourist attractions for quite a long time. Nevertheless, the majority of visitors paying a visit to these places are overseas as local people had a nonchalant attitude toward them. From my perspective, this worrisome tendency results from several causes and actions should be taken to tackle it

On the one hand, there is a variety of explanations for the shortage of local visitors paying a visit to historical sites. One outstanding justification is the misinterpretation of the local people. There seems to be evidence that the majority of indigenous citizens often deem that they understand their birthplace by heart, thereby, considering exhibitive place including museums as monotonous and dogma as these institutions have hardly anything to learn from. Another reason which is worth considering is the financial issue. Although there are certain arguments that the entrance ticket fee to access to museums is nothing too pricy when compared with the advantageous impact of it, most domestic visitors maintain the view that entering these galleries is only a waste of money and, therefore, refuse to have a go at these sites

Although there is no easy answer for the pre-mentioned hassle, there is some measure that can be taken to gradually improve the circumstance. One simple but effective solution is to raise awareness about the interesting points of museums and historical heritage among the population. Transforming these sites into a cinematic stage can be a suitable case in point. It does not seem unreasonable to suggest that a well-made historical film can draw a great deal of attention from local people and encourage them to pay a visit museums or monuments to see the antiques with their naked eyes. Another measure would be to organize tours which are free-of-charge for indigenous citizens, hence, deal with their monetary concerns that hinder people from giving these place a try

In conclusion, the underlying reasons behind the nonchalant attitude towards museums and historical heritage of local people are the misunderstanding and monetary issue. Therefore, more free tours for locals should be established. Furthermore, turning these place into filming location can also be a good means of drawing attention from the domestic population