Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is in the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

In recent years, the phenomenon of museums and places of historical significance being primarily attended by tourists rather than locals has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this trend can be attributed to major reasons, some suggest possible measures should be taken to encourage the attendance of local people to visit these sites.

There are a variety of reasons why foreign visitors pay more visits to museums and history-related places, by contrast, the local communities show no interest in these traditional sites. First and foremost, when tourists travel to another country in the world, they show a greater sense of curiosity about the local history and thus, feel strongly motivated to discover these locations. It is true that foreign visitors really wish to explore the cultural heritage and war relics as well as gain an insight into the destination, while the local citizens are usually well-acquainted with their cities' past. Another important reason is since the region's historical sites have become so familiar to the locals, they are no longer inclined to explore more. In fact, natives or students have been conveyed historical information through schools or mass media like televisions or several social network websites. Furthermore, the high entry fees in several historical places, which is more affordable for visitors from other nations than some less rich locals in developing ones.

In order to resurrect the interest of the local people in coming to museums and sites of historical importance, many courses of actions are available. One approach is that in order to provide more opportunities for students to learn about local museums, schools can organize regular educational trips to these places. To illustrate, compulsory trips will help students learn about their own nation's culture and history. This not only helps them feel the need to learn the historical lessons but also cultivates their sense of patriotism and belonging. The second measure could be that the local authorities should reduce entrance fees or otherwise offer some discounts to indigenous residents. As a result, they will be less burdened by their financial condition.

In summary, while it is understandable that foreigners often show greater enthusiasm for museums and historic spots, proper actions can be adopted to awaken the interest of local inhabitants in those places by organizing more interesting activities and compulsory trips.