Many museums charge for admission while other are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museum outweight the disadvantages?

The existence of museums in a country play an irreplaceable role. The museums provide an alternative to society both education and recreation. However, it raised the question about whether the museums should charge an entering fees or give a free pass. From a personal perspective, the entrance fees might survive museums from economic crisis and increase the quality of museums.

The museums are a part of public services. We can say beyond any doubt that governments must take this responsibility even though it is a support facilities and is not a major facilities such as schools or hospitals. The parks, for example, are funded by governments that facilitate the citizens in order that people have recreation area in their neighbourhood. In addition, setting retributions might affect a number of visitors. This can be attributed to the fact that people are more economical in this modern era. On holiday season, for instance, almost twice as many people visit parks or beaches than theme parks. Hence, if retributions is implemented, visitors might leave museums as holiday spot in the next day.

Apart from those reasons, governments do not have sufficient money to fund everything. There are others aspect which have priority such as education, health, and infrastructure. By way of illustration, primary and secondary schools get huge allocations because it is a foundation of development; besides, there are an increase significantly infrastructure cost in every year. Consequently, the museums get little money of this shares and it will be difficult to survive. Moreover, the museums need extra money. One reason for this is that they need to update the galleries, and provide special guides for improving attractions. Research carried out by survey data center in London shows that the major reason of visitor went to the museum due to new attractions and highly recommended exhibitions. If there is no update features, people will be bored and they leave gradually in spite of its free. Thus, charge for entering will not only enhance the quality of museum but also gain visitors interesting.

Having looked at both sides, setting the entrance fees brings essential benefits for museums and visitors outweight the drawbacks.