Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that museums play a crucial role in imparting knowledge regarding various cultures and traditions of different nations. While there are many advantages of putting a price on tickets by the museum authorities, we should also consider the drawbacks of this action. I do not completely agree with the views and would support my explanation with relevant examples.

On the one hand, it is beneficial for the museum governing bodies to price a ticket for viewers. This is because, the valued art and artifacts need regular maintenance and new additions, which can conveniently be done by the collected money. For example, according to a report published in the New York Times newspaper in 2011, it highlighted the mesmerizing array of the displayed arts and sculptures in the city museum, which was possible by help of ticket money and generous donations. In contrast, many spectators are unable to afford the unpredictable hiked ticket prices. As a result, the purpose of museum to provide recreation and impart knowledge is defeated.

On the other hand, galleries tend to hike ticket prices according to their needs. The reason is that, many of the museums are owned by private companies, which exploit their powers without providing any justification. For instance, in my own experience, when I visited the “Famous City Museum” for the second time, the ticket prices were doubled. As a result, my budget got a setback as I am a student with fixed allowance. Therefore, I could not afford the visit. However, the museum governance needs to set rules and regulations monitoring the ticket prices for the benefit of art as well as people. Although, I believe that erratic changes done in ticket prices can be controlled and monitored by a countries’ government.

In conclusion, while the advantages of paying price for ticket is more as compared to drawbacks, I believe regulations should be set so that people are not financially exploited.