Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, many tourist attractions are present globally which are offered and promoted by the government and one of them is the museum. museums also preserve and represent the history, traditions and many other important aspects of a country. In some museums, there is a policy that the visitors have to pay money before entering while others are free to visit. I certainly believe that the applied policy i.e. charging visitors for museum entrance derives more benefits than drawbacks.

First and foremost, money collected from the visitors can be utilised to maintain and develop the museum. For instance, it can be used to cover the utility bills, repairing costs, renovation and staff costs. maintaining a large museum costs a huge amount of money and the revenue earned from the visitors could be a good source of money to do that. Not all museums are funded by the government and sometimes museum‘s fund is not enough to cover all the costs it requires. If no money is taken from visitors, such museums would have to be shut down. So admission fee in museums seems very utilitarian to maintain a better museum.

Furthermore, due to applied tariff, inhabitants who enter a place providing scientific or historical values are likely to spend their leisure time there and do not enter unnecessarily. For example my sister, Lia tends to read carefully the available information provided in the museum and one of the reasons she does that because she wants to get some value from the money she spent. This example makes clear that admission money is seemly very utilitarian to encourage and educate the visitors to use facilities offered maximally.

On the other hand, entrance fee in museums possibly reduce the guests because most of the people prefer to come to places and spend idle time that can be entered without any money. To illustrate, a garden located in the city gets more visitors than the other amusement parks which require a ticket to enter. The people in the garden go to walk, gossip and to chat with others which should not be the case in a museum. Only interested and real visitors in a museum would make it a better place for people to learn and visit.

To conclude, although admission charge will attract fewer visitors in a museum in many cases, considering the purpose of a nice museum and to cover the expenses it requires, the entry fees seem to have more advantages than the drawbacks.