Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

The unique social and cultural values of a country play a vital role in emphasizing its identity. Therefore, people all over the world have been making endless efforts to preserve such precious heritage since ancient times, and museums are the most popular way to fulfill this purpose. Many museums, therefore, require people to pay a small fee when paying a visit, but some are free. This essay will outline several pros and cons of such charging fees and point out why the advantages would obviously outweigh the downsides.

To begin with, charging people for admission is quite reasonable, and will also bring some plus points. When visitors have to pay a certain amount of money for their trip, they may view it as a valuable experience and appreciate the items they get to observe. Moreover, the process of preserving and maintaining those exhibits could be quite costly and challenging, so charging for admission would somehow contribute to helping keep those artifacts in their original status. For example, money collected from visitors could be spent on specialized chemicals to slow down the process of degrading or hiring professional experts over the world to study more about their unique values. Consequently, a small fee would be necessary as, on a bigger scale, it can help to preserve those valuable pieces of evidence and provide future generations with more diverse viewpoints of history.

On the other hand, there are many people who hold the belief that charging a small fee does not bring such benefits. As other forms of entertainment such as social media have incredibly risen in popularity, they suggest that museums should be freely available for the public to promote more participation. With increasing competition with other means of recreation, if charging fees are still present, there will be fewer and fewer people who decide to visit museums but rather learn about them online for example. Consequently, this may be disadvantageous and could lead to the closure of many museums.

To sum up, despite some inevitable drawbacks, I believe the advantages of charging fees are still superior on the grounds that people need to understand more about the past and even the present context they are in now. Such values could be found nowhere except for museums, where many crucial pieces of evidence are kept.