Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Numerous museums from around the world are free of cost while others collect some entrance fees. Even though the museums would benefit from ticketing, I believe that they should be non-profit.

It is clear that charging the visitors for admission could bring the museums some regular incomes. Firstly, the amounts of ticketing could be used to maintain the museum operations by paying the bills of required services such as water, electric and cleaning service. Moreover, customer's payment could help the museums improve their quality in some aspects. The money could be used to upgrade the facilities by expanding the capacity of the museums or buying new exhibits. Another option is to raise the paid to employees. A better wage could have a positive influence on employees attitude, which also has an important impact on the quality of service.

However, is it really necessary to take money from the visitors to supply the museums? There are a variety of other solutions to raise fund for the museums. For instance, the museums can open courses about art or history, and organize some charity exhibits to gain financial support from the private sector. In addition, the access cost could discourage not only the tourists but also the local people from visiting such historical places. The ticket price could be unaffordable for paupers, prevents them from approaching and experiencing an educational environment of the exhibition halls.

In conclusion, although the fee of admission allows the museums to grow better in some ways, I still think that the gate to historical places should be open freely for everyone as the educational benefits are more essential.