These days, more and more people are going to other countries for significant periods of time, either to find a job or to study. There are clearly many benefits to doing this, but people who live abroad can also face some difficulties.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living and working in a foreign country.

Moving to other countries for studying and living is a current trend, especially among young adults. Even though living abroad give people obviously enormous benefits, there are plenty of obstacles to overcome.

There are a large number of reasons for people to go living overseas. Firstly, destination countries are usually the more developed countries that can offer people a better life quality. These countries are either have an advanced education system, a great social security system or just simply a better job market. In the past, thousands of people from northern Vietnam have moved to Soviet Union countries for working and most of them returned to their homeland later with fortunes, some of them even chose to reside abroad for good. This is because their income in these countries was very high at that time and the currency rate could significantly increase the value of their money in Vietnam. In addition, living in other countries can help people extend their ability by giving them chances to gain better qualifications and language skills. People who live abroad can learn more new knowledge from their international friends who have different cultural backgrounds, which give them a broader outlook on life.

However, starting fresh in a strange country is definitely no plain sailing. First of all, the entrances to developed countries are tighten up due to the raising concerns about the terrorism and the immigration wave. The US government made some orders in the midyear of 2017 to tighten up the immigration policy, preventing citizens of some Muslim countries from entering the USA. Many other countries are also considering to close their border in order to reduce the number of immigrants. These changes had discouraged many young people who intended to find an international career opportunity or to pursue the academic path overseas. Even if they manage to get accepted from their desired country, there are more and more challenges waiting ahead such as the cultural shock, the language barrier, the racisms and other serious problems.

In conclusion, living in a foreign country is not just a challenging journey but also a life-changing opportunity for those who dare to take it.