Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle the problem?

It is certainly true that there are more repeat offenders after completing their first sentence. This is mainly because of lack of rehabilatation in prison and difficulty landing a job. There are two solutions which should be implemented by the government to deter them from committing crimes.

Many first time criminals repeats the same crime shortly after they have been released. This maybe caused by a variety of reasons. Firstly, is the failure of the authority to rehabilitate them. This means that there are less programs focusing on the needs of prisoners. Secondly, they are having hard time looking for work because of the negative image and trust issues in the society. Without any source of income or financial support to feed their families and loved ones, they may consider the easy and illegal way to earn a living. Lastly, peer pressure from other offenders has a negative effect that may lead to another crime.

There are two effective solutions to this problem. One way to tackle this issue is for the government to focus on providing seminars and workshops to prisoners while they are serving their punishment. rehabilitation programs such as weekly visit to a psychologist prepares them emotionally and psychologically in their integration back to the community. Another possible method is to tain them with new skills. For instance, prisoners in Malaysia are taught how to hand weave baskets and bags. The skills learned will equip them in finding paid employment after their released.

In conclusion, the lack of proper rehabilitation in prison and financial challenges are factors that forces repeat offenders in committing crimes, and the best ways to prevent this from happening are by continuous counselling and teaching them new life skills.