Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices.

How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

A plethora of historical buildings as a part of countries’ history is protected by some regulations of law. While certain people argue that these buildings ought to make way for contemporary buildings, I definitely believe that the maintenance of old buildings is crucially important and should not to stop the progress of countries.

Preserving historical buildings is meaningful for several reasons. The foremost reason is that antique constructions are the heritage of our culture, traditions and customs showing us how our ancestors used to live in the previous years. In the same way, historical buildings have reflected ancestors’ legacy from the past, as well as the diversity of architectural styles, such as classicism, renaissance or even baroque. For example, the key architectural style of Lithuanian capital is classicism allowing to recognise when the main buildings were erected, namely city hall and cathedral. In addition to this, ancestors’ legacy assists to learn more about our history and as a result either the inspiration of patriotism or pride of their nation.

On the other hand, many people argue that these old buildings are obstacles in the progress of countries and new ones being more suitable in our day-to-day lives should replace them. However, old buildings as a heritage of nation enhance tourism in countries that have brought about the ability to increase income of budget. Moreover, a tremendous attraction of tourists to historical buildings has prompted many investments to establish companies in touristic countries result in decreasing the unemployment rate in these nations.

In conclusion, despite the argument that some argue that these historic buildings have to be destroyed making way for new constructions, I firmly believe that the protection of old buildings is beneficial for countries and might not stop the development of nations.