Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of nation's history.However people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones, because people and offices. How important is the maintenance of old buildings? Should history stand the way of progress?

Every society has some ancient buildings which are preserved and protected by local governments due to their historical value. They stand as monuments making people feel proud, as of their past. Although, the demand for land is increasing for the development of residential areas and once premises, this essay does not support the idea of destroying old buildings, for they can help to preserve the cultural identity and history of a nation.

The first reason for preserving Old building is their ability to maintain the cultural identity of a nation. More than material prosperity, people generally take pride in their past, as members of a culture. As such, traditional buildings, which are considered as monuments of a country, represent the glory of a period in the past. A good example to illustrate this point is The Taj Mahal in india, constructed during the times of the Mughals, which stands as a historical monument.

The second reason is the amount of revenue these monuments can generate, when tourism is on the increase everywhere. Palaces, forts, temples, churches, mosques and memorials attract visitors. These buildings also help other business opportunities to flourish. For example, the Tower of London, the Leaning Tower of Pisa, the Pyramids of Egypt and the Cathedral of Cologne have paved the way for the development of these areas. The presence historic buildings offers an example. Thus, tourism and allied industries provide opportunities* for the development of the economy.

In short, the preservation of monuments of the past is* a matter of national dignity. The destruction of historic buildings of a country of a country would sound the death knell of its culture.