In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are committing more crimes, what are the causes?

How should these young criminals to be punished.

Recent years witness an increasing number of crimes committed by young people. There could be several reasons for this trend and some methods can be adopted to punish young criminals.

Three main reasons may weight heavily in the rise of young delinquency. The major one would be lack of the previously ever-present attention of parents. Rapid economic development in recent years forces a great number of migrant workers move from city to city in search of work. This may cause millions of children to be left behind in rural areas mostly under the care of grandparents with little or no education. These children are very likely to suffer from development issues and become involved in crimes. Another reason is campus bullying, and this may cause the anti-social behaviors. Finally, young people have been exposed to too much inappropriate contents from the TV or the Internet, which may lead to the rise of violent and sexual crimes.

It is not easy to decide how to punish young offenders. On the one hand, young delinquents are immature and flexible, meaning that they should be treat differently in comparison to adult counterparts. This is extremely important in the cases of petty crimes, such as shoplifting and picking pocket. These young offenders could be punished by volunteering in their communities or warning. On the other hand, punishment should fit the crime regardless of the age when it comes to serious violent crimes, such as murder, armed robbery, arsenal, which means prison sentences or even death penalty could be considered. Otherwise, it would be unfair to victims and their families as well as to law-abiding individuals.

In conclusion, several ways can be taken to give young delinquents appropriate punishments despite the fact that there is an increasing number of crimes involving young people.