Many people are too scared to leave their homes because of a fear of crime. some people think that more should be done to prevent crime, where as other feel that nothing can be done.

What are your views?

Over recent decades, there has been an increasing fear of crime in many countries. Although some think that there is little that can be done to reduce the levels of crime, I believe there are measures that can be implemented.

Those that believe that nothing can be done hold this view for several reasons. Firstly they think that a fear of crime is a state of mind perpetuated by the media. for example, we are constantly bombarded with negative news stories about crime people will still be scared. Another belief is that crime is caused by wider structural issues in society that are too difficult to tackle,such as the growing income gap between the rich and the poor. Little then can be done this issue in our capitalist socities.

However, I feel that there are solutions that will ensure people feel safer outside their homes. Government can increase the number of police in local communities and more neighbourhood watch scheme should be encouraged both of which increase safety and deter crime. The media should be encouraged to present more positive stories about how crime is tackled rather than focus on the negative. In terms of the structural issues, government should attempt to tackle issue of poverty through better income distribution.

To conclude there is a widely held view that nothing can be done to prevent crime. In contrast to this opinion, I would argue that there are option available that would help prevent crime and therefore reduce the fear of crime.