Many people are working longer and longer hours. What are the reasons and effects?

It is true that people are tending to spend more and more time at their work. There are a number of reasons for this trend, but I believe that the effects may be damaging to health and family life.

There are two major reasons why people are at risk of becoming workaholics. Firstly, few people now have a steady job, and they willingly accept a heavy workload because they fear that they may be made redundant. As many companies make cutbacks in the number of their employees, work becomes more labour-intensive and working hours increase. Secondly, many people are working longer simply in order to earn a living and support their families. While minimum wages are stagnant in countries such as the USA, for example, the cost of everyday necessities increases all the time.

The harmful effects on health and family life are serious. Overworking is detrimental to health. Exhausted employees are less alert to rules of health and safety in the workplace, for instance when operating potentially dangerous machinery or using hazardous substances. Working long hours results in physical fatigue and may also lead to mental health problems. In terms of family life, the more time that is spent working, the less time there is for parental involvement in raising children. Having a close-knit family is incompatible with long hours at work, especially in a single parent household in which part of the wages are used to pay for child-minding.

In conclusion, while there are clearly some reasons which explain this current trend, it is also clear that the consequences may have a negative impact on individuals and their families.