Task 2: Some believe that because everyone needs a place to live, governments should provide houses for those who are too poor to afford their own. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether to provide houses for the poor by the government is very topical today, as so many people are struggling with the worries about a place to live. However, I personally do not entirely accept this, and I will explain why in this essay.

We must consider the potential negatives of placing a burden on the finances of the government. The authorities have to face a number of investments in public services such as schools, hospitals, or infrastructures. Therefore, if they need to spend a huge amount of money to build shelters for just the small parts of countries, the financial economy will be severely impaired. A further reason to be wary of this idea is the lack of motivation. In order to have their own houses for themselves, it is necessary to work hard and save money until they earn enough properties. When the government provides the available houses for the poor, they lose the motivation to put effort into their work and seemly become dependent on the authorities.

However, it is admitted that giving houses for the needed people is the best to ensure safety. Natural calamities are unpredictable, so it is immensely dangerous for those who do not have shelters. In this situation, the government just should provide temporary public houses for the short term to save people in emergency conditions as well as continuing encourage them to build their own houses early.

In conclusion, I am convinced that providing free houses for poor people is not totally a good idea. Boosting citizens to construct their houses is not only a buffet against lack of motivation but also ensures safety for the long term.