Many people believe children should begin learning a foreign language in primary school instead of secondary school.

Do you think the advantages of learning a foreign language in primary school outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued whether students should start to approach second language in kindergarten or in elementary school. The essay will outline why I believe that the merits of learning a foreign language before going to secondary school outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, studying a foreign language earlier can help pupils learning faster. One of the main reasons is that young learners incline to learn a new language quicker before age 6 according to a report released by National Education Department. In addition, if children are able to get familiar with second language before entering elementary school, it will help them save more time in the future. For example, there are already many subjects such as math and national language that kids need to learn. Provided that they are taught foreign language before then, they can have more time spending on other domains.

On the other hand, the advocate who think foreign language should be one of the classes until secondary school content that it is likely to affect their learning on mother tongue. Since kids may be to too young to understand the differences between mother language and foreign language, they may become confused and take more time to speak both well, leading to a catastrophic outcome in the future. Furthermore, less confident students may be cultivated by the policy due to the difficulty of leaning in their early age.

In conclusion, although there are some potential drawbacks if we let out beloved children to learn a second language before entering elementary, these negative effects can be solved by providing professional language teacher in kindergarten. Therefore, in my opinion, the benefits of studying a foreign language, in terms of efficiency of studying in new language or in other subjects during secondary school, prevail over the downsides.