Many people believe that cycling is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport. However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among wider population.

It is believed by a great number of people that riding a bicycle is an activity beneficial both to the health and the environment. Nevertheless, cycling is preferred only in certain countries. In my opinion, many people are busy and consequently they lack time for cycling.

First of all, there is no doubt that cycling contributes considerably to one's health. Some people are keen on maintaining fit and riding a bicycle improves a person's physical fitness and endurance. Moreover, it is usually an outdoor activity, which is in the benefit of people as they get fresh air.

In terms of environment, the world currently faces serious problems due to the pollution. Bicycles are human-powered vehicles, therefore, if people travelled more by this means of transport, they would significantly reduce their carbon footprints, whereas driving the car regularly emits huge amounts of the gas in question.

Although some people avoid cycling because they lack time, they are also concerned about safety. Many cities do not benefit from an an adequate cycling infrastructure. Especially during rush hour, some drivers show impatience and even get angry when they encounter cyclists on the road. By constructing cycling facilities, such as cycle lanes and bike racks, most people would certainly feel safer and unecessary altercations between drivers and cyclists would be avoided. Another way to stimulate the population to use the bicycle on a regular basis is to organize city parades, given the fact that this type of event makes the roads available only for the cyclists and not for the other traffic participants.

To conclude, I strongly believe that each country has the responsibility to provide cycling facilities in order to encourage a a wider population to travel by bicycle.