Many people believe that the main aim of university education is to help graduates find better jobs, while some people believe that a university education has wider benefits for individuals and society as a whole. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people claim that what higher education should do greatly is to help graduates grab better jobs, while others suggest that a university have more functions for individuals and society as a whole. This essay will fathom both views, then followed by my own one.

On the one hand, it is of great importance for the college to cultivate their students’ employable abilities. This is because these capacities can help them to be employed by more excellent companies, which may provide better salaries for them. For example, it is the capabilities of cooperating with others that are mostly required in prestigious companies. If the college works hard to instruct its undergraduates how to collaborate with others well, these students are more likely to be hired in a firm with good reputation when they finish their tertiary education.

On the other hand, colleges had better play significant roles in developing students’ range of interest and raising their awareness of obeying laws. For one thing, hobbies can exert a positive impact on students’ free time, which is a large part of their daily time including life and work. In general, they can add colors to people’s leisure life which tends to be mundane and tedious, encouraging them to kill time rather than to feel bored. For another, college students ought to be taught to abide by laws. To be specific, obeying legislations can be regarded as the first prerequisite for them to become good social members in that law-abiding citizens can lead to a harmonious society.

To conclude, from my perspective, the university should not only foster students’ employable skills, but also develop students’ hobbies and raise their legal consciousness.