Some people think that individuals can do nothing to improve the environment, and the government and big companies can make a difference. To what extent you agree or disagree?

It is argued that individuals cannot do anything to improve the environment, and only the government and big companies can make a difference. However, I disagree with this idea.

One of the main reasons why individuals can improve the environment is that individuals can reduce the amount of rubbish. When people consciously reduce the output of waste in daily life, a quantity of rubbish will be decreased, and the contaminant will be reduced effectively. For example, if citizens improve their awareness of environmental protection by not using plastic bags when they go shopping, the White Pollution will not be so serious as now.

Another is that individuals’ behavior can conserve natural resources. Human beings need plenty of resources to survive, such as water, electricity, light and so on. Provided that people start to utilize resources rationally, the energy crisis will be eased. A good case in point is that people can turn off the lights when they leave, in order to save the the electrical energy.

Admittedly, a few people may think that only the government and big companies can make a contribution to protect the environment. Government can draw up and enact harsh laws to force companies to advance their production devices as most of pollution is caused by old machines. On the other hand, big companies can set a good example for other companies.

To summarize, there is no doubt that government and big companies’ efforts can improve the environment. However, I still believe that the people are making greater contributions to improve the environment.