Some people think that individuals can do nothing to improve the environment, and the government and big companies can make a difference. To what extent you agree or disagree?

It is argued that only the government and big companies can improve the environment and individuals make no contributions. I disagree with this idea.

One of the main reasons why individuals can improve the environment is that individuals can reduce the amount of rubbish. Nowadays, a large amount of daily garbage is carelessly produced by citizens themselves, and if they can be aware of that, the output of daily waste will be largely decreased. For example, the white pollution, one the most serious problems in the world, is generated by those who prefer to apply plastic bags to pack their goods when they go shopping and do not realize that their bad habit may be the major reason for this pollution.

Another is that individuals can conserve natural resources. A large quantities of resources are being wasted due to residents’ inappropriate use and once the public use them reasonably, the energy crisis that humans are facing will be eased. A good case in point is that a large amount of electricity will be saved when people appropriately use their domestic appliances, such as turning off the TV when they do not want to watch.

Admittedly, a few people may think that only the government and big companies can make a contribution to protect the environment. The main reason is that governments are more powerful and can draw up and enact harsh laws to punish those who damage the environment, such as the companies which has generated massive pollution due to the outdated machines. Besides, big companies can set a good example for other companies through advancing their production devices and the rest firms will follow in their footsteps.

To summarize, there is no doubt that government and big companies can largely improve the environment. However, I still believe that everyone, including individuals, can make contributions to environmental protection.