Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Most of the people think that using social networks for example, Facebook have disadvantages individually and generally. Whereas, I disagree with that opinion. What I believe is social media have positive impacts on us. They can help us to be able to make contacts with people from different places, to do our business, and to seek for opportunities.

Firstly, social networks such as Facebook, Instagram, WhatsApp, and Twitter are great places where all the people around the world can meet. Consequently, they can be friends with the ones who have the same interests. We can create groups just as football fan clubs, study groups, and so on. Obviously, we can have group discussion, and share our thoughts. For the people who are away from family and friends, they do not need to worry about getting lonesome. They can easily keep in touch with their beloved ones by using those social applications.

Secondly, certain people can advertise their business on Facebook. Also, it is kind of search engine tool. We can ask for recommendations about institutions, shops, and things. We can also make money by running online shop business. Moreover, we can be famous by making blogs.

Thirdly, we can get the opportunities through educational pages on Facebook. We can easily apply for internships, summer camp, leadership program, and exchange program. We can even gain knowledge by following the inspired, and world-famous people’s accounts and pages. In addition, healthcare articles can be read on Facebook and we can make our lifestyle healthy and happy.

On the other hand, there are some drawbacks if one is not using social networking sites in good ways. The majority of the people are addicted to Facebook and Instagram. Thus, they spend less time with family and prefer living alone with those apps. Besides, students cannot focus on their studies if they are into surfing the net.

In summary, as I mentioned above, benefits overweigh the drawbacks. People should use the social media in good ways to advance the knowledge. Furthermore, we do need to set the limits on them if we are addicted to them. As the disadvantages can be adaptive, I disagree with the given opinion.