Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree

In this era of information technology, especially the development of the internet, it is a common belief that social media platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, etc have affected an enormous detriment to individual people as well as societal communities in terms of potential mobile phone addiction and social isolation. From my perspective, I completely agree with this point of view and shall provide the reasons for it.

First of all, people tend to be constantly addicted to social networking sites because these websites have miraculous but ineffectual contents and designs that can let one get stuck in them for hours without even realizing it. As a result, much of our valuable time is wasted because of it, especially for children who can be easily distracted from studying and their eyes are being wrecked by sitting in front of the screen surfing those webs. According to a recent survey, it is alarming that the rate of myopia will account for 50% of the entire world population after 30 years so there need to be stricter rules on the use of social networking sites.

In addition to the reason above, I also believe that social individuals and society may choose to make more interest in people online instead of meeting face-to-face in reality. Consequently, people may be more introverted and our community will be disjointed and fragmented. For instance, in various families, there is no interaction, or heartiness, just only phones to surf the Internet. Furthermore, youngsters may have difficulty handling frictions or rifts in relationships because of the lack of real-life relationships.

To conclude, I strongly believe that social networking sites have impacted a number of devastating things on both individuals and the community. People should have specific measures to solve this problem in order to promote the future of our society.