Some say that music plays an important role in society whilst others think it is simply a form of entertainment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, various viewpoints can be found on the subject of the function of music in society. People hold conflicting views about whether music holds a significant position with multifaceted roles or is just basically a form of recreation. Personally, I do think that music’s role has more potential than just being a mere form of entertainment.

On the one hand, it is evident that music provides us with enjoyment and happiness, and music is a means of relaxation that we can immerse ourselves in and escape from daily routines or the bustling rhythm of life. Music is consumed for personal pleasure as a type of commodity, depending on the preference and taste of the listener, so its societal impact is limited and sometimes trivial. Consequently, music's aesthetic and cultural value, according to critics, has been overwhelmed by the emphasis on recreation, overshadowing its authenticity and relevance.

On the other hand, I believe that music, with its versatile roles, is beneficial for social advancement. Music is likely a catalyst that inspires and educates people through lyrics and melodies, promoting social change. For instance, throughout history, numerous songs, such as Revolution Music, have acted as catalysts for social movements and fostered the spirit of patriotism. Moreover, music provides employment, high salaries, and fame for individuals who have passion and talent. Let’s take Taylor Swift as an example. Thanks to music, she converted from an American lassie to a famous artist and a millionaire with a variety of prevalent songs. Additionally, music is deeply intertwined with culture, reflecting traditions, beliefs, and values. For example, traditional music genres are a link to the past that makes us feel a sense of connection between generations.

In conclusion, although it is partly true that music is a form of entertainment that brings amusement and relaxation, it seems to me that music has more essential roles in providing both jobs and deep insights into religion and shaping cultural identities all over the world.