Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. To what extent do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, during vehicle-free days in some towns, private cars, trucks, and motorcycles are prohibited from the city center. Moreover, Inhabitants are emboldened to travel by public transportation such as buses, taxis, and the metro. Personally, I suppose that vehicle days have both pros and cons, but the advantages of them are jar more significant as this policy can consolidate traffic situations and reduce air pollution.

On the one hand, it is clear that vehicle-free days would bring about several disadvantages. One evident weakness is that it would ignite numerous serious problems among the workers in the city, especially the delivery man. For example, the delivery mas may hardly convey goods on time due to vehicle restrictions. Thus, far-reaching consequences could result in a drop in customer satisfaction levels and delivery men’s salaries. Another reason is that the elderly may face a dilemma when using public transportation such as buses and the metro because of poor health. This could have severe consequences for their health, as they may feel tired, and uncomfortable, and can not accommodate the noise, and the crowd. Therefore, it is crucial to find alternative transportation arrangements for old people, pregnant people, and people with disabilities

On the other hand, I argue that the advantages would prove to be more worthwhile. First, using public transportation is a good way in order to reduce pollution. Carbon dioxide and fine dust are the primary pollutants emitted by vehicles that pose a risk to human health. Through vehicle-free days, the qualities of respiratory health and the atmosphere are increased significantly. Second, the transport system is further bolstered by the fact that the fewer vehicles, the less road congestion. Let me take the Car-free day in Vietnam as an example. On this day, there was no traffic jam and millions of VND and tons of gasoline were saved for other useful works. It partly solves the problem of traffic congestion which is causing great damage to national economic development, reducing labor efficiency and unnecessary costs in this current context of economic deflation and difficulties.