Some people believe that exams are an inappropriate way of measuring students’ performance and should be replaced by continuous assessment. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is a common belief that judging pupils' progress by exams is a flawed method in terms of its insignificant effect and the lack of objectivity in the rating, and continuous evaluation should take the role as a procedure instead. From my perspective, I completely agree with this viewpoint and shall provide the reasons for it.

First of all, after a semester, students tend to memorize only the contents required for the examination, not all the lectures, with no creativity just to cover up knowledge gaps to get flying colors sloppily and deceitfully. As a result, pupils may easily forget what they have learned when the test is finished and there will be no benefit for their futures and knowledge. According to a recent survey, Singapore and various countries have announced that they will abolish midterm tests or even all the tests. Thus, continuous assessment - an appropriate way of measuring students’ that focuses on comprehensive training effort, the quality, and capacity of students should be vigorously applied.

In addition to the reason above, I also believe that while consecutive ratings help students to build cooperation, prizing a student by exams may increase the emulation and peer pressure between them. Consequently, scholars may be more introverted, easily want to get out of school, and have mental health issues such as depression, illness, stress, etc. Furthermore, friendships will be on the rocks and get frictions or rifts in relationships because of busyness and rivalry. For example, in numerous schools, students with high scores are arranged to sit in front-row seats, while the lower ones are opposite may lead to a lack of interaction and mutual competition.

To conclude, I strongly believe that continuous assessment is more beneficial than examinations because it helps students improve their qualities, capacities and build cooperation. Government and the Ministry of Education should use that specific measure to solve the drawbacks of exams in order to promote the future of people's education.