Many people believe that television programs are of no value for children. Do you agree? Why or why not?

The world of television has undergone a remarkable change with the advent of new age technology such as dish TVs and cable connection setups. Varieties of programs are being telecast daily and many believe that such TV shows hold no importance for children. However, I am a strong opponent of this belief.

I strongly feel that TV programs can influence children positively if watched under parental supervision. To start with, many TV channels air documentaries regularly which are of great educational value. For instance, the channels like of BBC, National Geography and CNN provide immense knowledge on current affairs and enhance one's communication skills. Moreover, quiz shows are one of the favourites among children these days. These shows too, widen the sphere of knowledge by providing valuable information on history, geography etc. and that too in a very entertaining way. Furthermore, programs on cooking and health help children acquire good eating habits and make them health conscious by giving them valuable health tips.

What is more important is that these channels act as a source of entertainment and stress busters. For example, by watching cartoon network, children enter into the wonder world and feel fresh and energetic. Additionally, some TV channels run talent shows which provide excellent platforms for youngsters to showcase their talent and nourish their skills. Also, by watching television, kids explore new things, animals and places that they couldn't see otherwise. Thriller movies and shows develop their analytic skills in a great way.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that healthy viewing habits and limited screen time can be a positive experience for children.