Many people believe that zoos are cruel, others believe that zoos are useful for protecting rare animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While zoos have been familiar destinations to several people on some occasions, many of them assume that zoos take a necessary role in saving endangered species. However, there is still a group that notices the cruelty of zoos.

With regard to the species which are on the verge of extinction or have lost their natural habitats due to deforestation or climate change, zoos are ideal places to survive. Firstly, zoos recreate the living environment most similar to their incident natural habitats and remain a stable ecological balance for the rare, therefore they can easily adapt to the new house. Secondly, zoos also support plenty of breeding programs for conservation and the survival of species. It’s interpreted as the endangered species that can receive all the best conditions to not only maintain but also resilience.

However, as a matter of fact, there are several commercial zoos are established nowadays of which priority is the attention of the visitors. Therefore, they capture a wide range of species, especially the wild ones and isolate them from their herd. In the long term of caging, these animals will lose their instinct and hardly able to come back to their natural habitats. Moreover, to create the highlight attracting visitors, various zoos force the animals to do circus by the rigorous training or even mistreatment. From my perspective, that actions seriously violate animal rights. In order to protect entirely the rare animals, it is better to take them to specialized animal conservation centers and the government needs to take responsibility in completely banning the poachers and destruction of the natural habitats.

In conclusion, there are several zoos that have noticeable conservation efforts for rare animals, nevertheless, their ruthlessness to serve the commercial purpose is considerable.