Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for.

Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation?

One in every social group, if asked, will not have kind words about their workplace. Many get stuck in roles that they truly despise or cannot seem to get a hang of. In this essay, I will explain what kind of circumstances may lead to this and the resulting consequences.

In this economy, making a living is a job of its own. Knowing this, greater salaries are prioritised by many rather than working in a place they desire. For instance, someone with a passion for saving lives may want to become a Paramedic or Nurse, yet they cannot because jobs like these are highly underpaid word wide. Furthermore, people may prefer wages over salaries, because that would allow overtime work wages. That would lead to an overworked, unfulfilled, and desolate life however. A solution I would suggest would be that there need to be changes in income laws that mitigate this biased and unfair salaries for the common person.

Another reason for anyone finding themselves stuck in the mud, so to say, is not being accepted into their dream college. For many, it is all or nothing and so they end up going in an entirely different direction. Money and funds may be trivial matters for such people, but finding themselves grinding the daily rota without any passion for it, might be a huge problem. A prime example we see quite commonly, is rejected Law School aspirants who instead embark on a different path such as business or education. This is a business on part of Ivy League schools, making admissions tougher every year, and the lower ranked schools trying to compete with them. I reiterate, like above, stand-fast laws need to be present to deal with monopolies and these conscious biases.

In conclusion, it is apparent that doing something you just don’t have knack for, is not the greatest way to live your life. The law makers are as much responsible for this as the common person, for allowing such loopholes and for giving up, respectively. Ultimately, I believe it is the former who yield the power to make this right, and give back hope to the wanting worker.