Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for Why does this happen What are the consequences of this situation

In the modern times, a lot of people accept working in an occupation that they neither have the passion nor a knack for it. There is a reason and adverse effect to this trend.

In many Asian countries, family pressure can be a factor for them to pick the type of jobs that they do not like. There are a lot of families in Asian countries that still have traditional thought, in which their children need to have prestiges jobs such as Doctor, Lawyer, and Engineer. Hence, giving them no choice in choosing their own career path.

Forcing people pick a job that they do not have the passion for will have a dire consequence. The person might be resentful towards the occupation and the person who had pressured them. Many families pressure their children to study hard to apply for jobs that could give the parents fame and lucrative financial income without caring if the careers are fit for their child or not. Thus, when the child became an adult they would resent the job and their parents. For example, in 2010, there is a woman who is a famous lawyer, quit her job after 10 years and resents her mother since she does not have the passion for law but her mother insists her to follow that career path and forbade from pursuing other professions .

In conclusion, people have a tendency to choose the type of jobs that their parents want. And I would argue that this could have a negative impact in the long term for those people.