Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for Why does this happen What are the consequences of this situation

In the modern times, a lot of people accept working in an occupation that they neither have the passion nor a knack for it. There is a reason for this trend and adverse effect to this trend.

In many Asian countries, family pressure can be a factor for them to pick the type of jobs that they do not like. There are a lot of families in many Asian countries that still have traditional thought, in which their children need to have a prestiges jobs such as Doctor, Lawyer, and Engineer. Hence, giving them no choice in choosing their own career path. For instance, in Vietnam, many parents want their children to apply for majors that generate an abundance of wealth.

Forcing people to pick a job that they do not have the passion for will have dire consequences. The person might be resentful towards the occupation and the person that pressures them. Many parents pressure their children to study hard in order to apply for jobs that could give the parent fame and lucrative financial income without caring if the child wants that career or not. Thus, when the child became an adult they would resent the job that they are in and their parents. For example, in 2010, there is a woman who is a famous lawyer, quit her job after 10 years and resents her mother since she does not have the passion for law but her mother for insisting her to follow that career path.

In conclusion, people have a tendency to choose the type of jobs that their parents want. And I would argue that this could have a negative impact in the long term for those people.