Many people regard film as less important art forms than literature and paintings. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that literature and paintings are deemed more valuable art forms as opposed to film. In my opinion, a plausible reason why many consider film not as important as the other art forms in question is due to the fact that a film is partly the result of technology and consequently diminishes the charm of arts.

On the one hand, even though a film's storyline is frequently based on a prominent piece of writing, it alters the original story to a certain degree. Some of the people who are avid readers end up bitterly disappointed when watching a film with a significantly different plot, which is not according to the one the book presented. When reading literature or admiring paintings, one has to use his or her imagination in order to grasp the message the artist has meant. More often than not, many are keen on exploring new realms. In other words, they show willingness to enter a dimension where the impossible turns into possible. Conversely, thanks to technology, most films are relatively close to reality and they lay emphasis on common problems the humanity faces. This aspect of films is likely to be rather boring and uninteresting for a number of people.

Furthermore, especially when it comes to paintings, they cannot be found everywhere. Famous paintings generally lie worldwide, being part of the museum's collections. Hence, a person is bound to feel excitement when he finally has the chance to marvel at a painting.

On the other hand, many people watch films because they enjoy the effects and the vivid atmosphere a film conveys. People are able to see remote and fascinating places, which could be hardly reached. They are practically seized by the same emotions as the characters of the film they watch. The audience grows anxious when the character they empathize the most with is attacked or suffers, and show a state of joy when the hero eventually overcome the difficulties he or she encountered.

To conclude, I have mixed feelings on the matter in question. I strongly believe that it mainly depends on each person's taste whether they prefer art forms, such as literature or paintings, rather than film. Personally, I think that every art form has both positive aspects and drawbacks and it is our duty as so-called art connoisseur to identify them.