Many people think it is very important to protect the environment but they make no effort to do it themselves. Why do you think it is the case? What actions can be done to ensure that individuals protect the environment?

<span style="font-size: 19.36px;">Environmental problems have threatened the world but few people have chosen to take any action to deal with these problems, although they realise the impact of these environmental woes on their lives. We should implement some changes to improve the situation.

Many people spend money wisely, so they are not willing to purchase environmentally friendly products, despite the fact that these products can help preserve the environment. These products are normally more expensive than conventional counterparts. For example, LED lighting devices are energy efficient, but normally charge consumers a higher price than traditional light bulbs. Electriccarsarenormallylikelyto cost more money than those vehicles powered by petrol. As consumers do not opt for these green products, it is not easy to conserve resources and reduce pollution.

Another reason is that many people are not willing to change their ways of life, even though these lifestyles can be harmful to the environment. The use of electrical equipment has led to a sharp rise in electricity consumption, which means that the power generation sector has a higher demand for fossil fuels. People also prefer to travel by car, but car emissions can cause global warming, which is a threat to the environment. The reliance on different electronic products including mobile phones is another issue, since many of these products end up in landfill sites.

These problems can be tackled by two policies. Governments can enact laws to forbid those behaviours which can cause damage to the environment, such as disposing of waste carelessly. Those who drop litter should be fined, so the environmental impact of this behaviour can be reduced. Another solution is to offer subsidies to encourage people to go green. For example, those consumers who buy fuel-efficient cars can be subsidised, so car emissions can be reduced significantly.</span>