Many people think that public celebrations (like National Holidays, festivals etc) are a waste of money and that is the government should spend those funds in a better way. Do you agree or disagree?

where public money goes is a topic of debate among the public. It is generally said that allocating public founds to holding celebrations, from traditional holidays to festivals, can be wastefulness, while it could be spend on some significant programmes. I firmly believe that it is better to be assigned to health centers and education system.

The most important requirement of every society is providing health centres. Building these clinics, people from all walks of life would sweep away their worry regarding some serious illnesses. Take South Africa into consideration; each year a large amount of money is spent on traditional celebrations; however, many people are threatened by some acute diseases such as HIV. If government of Africa had made a wise decision and erected more hospitals, the number of death tolls would probably reduce.

Another possible investment can be estabilishing educational centres. This is because erecting schools, language Institutes, and research organisations come with a staggering cost. such an unreported sums of money could not be affordable except by the government, whereas numerous donations can be assigned to the celebrations by people.

To sum up, I am of the opinion that a lion share of public money ought to be first allocated to education centres and health services, and then celebrations.